

COUNTY BOARD STAFF COMMITTEE Minutes – November 16, 2020

<u>Call to Order</u>. Chair Purviance called the meeting of the County Board Staff Committee to order at 4:30 P.M. via telephone conference.

<u>Committee Members Present via Phone</u>: Supervisors Purviance, Beaver, Brien, Richard Bostwick, Leavy, Peer, Podzilni, Sweeney and Yeomans.

Committee Members Absent: None.

<u>Staff Members Present via Phone</u>: Josh Smith, County Administrator; Randy Terronez, Assistant to County Administrator; Annette Mikula, Human Resources Director; Richard Greenlee, Corporation Counsel; Terri Carlson, Risk Manager; Bridget Laurent, Deputy Corporation Counsel; Amy Spoden, Human Resources Assistant Director; Lisa Tollefson, County Clerk; Kate Luster, Human Services Director.

Others Present: Supervisor Richard.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>. Supervisor Leavy moved approval of the agenda as presented, second by Supervisor Bostwick. ADOPTED.

Public Comment. None.

<u>Approval of Minutes –October 26, 2020</u>. Supervisor Leavy moved approval of the minutes of October 26, 2020 as presented, second by Supervisor Brien. ADOPTED.

Transfers. None.

Review of Payments. The Committee accepted the reports

Resolutions and Committee Action.

To Recognize Kristin Haakenson

"NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Rock County Board of Supervisors, duly assembled this ______ day of ______, 2020 does hereby recognize Kristin Haakenson for her 34 years of service and extend best wishes to her in her future endeavors."

Supervisor Peer moved approval of the above resolution, second by Supervisor Yeomans. ADOPTED.

Requiring Board Approval of All Communication Issued on "Rock County Board of Supervisors" Letterhead

"NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Rock County Board of Supervisors duly assembled this ______ day of ______, 2020 does hereby resolve that, in no event, may any member of the Rock County Board of Supervisors issue any letter, press release, statement, or any other ."

Supervisor Yeomans moved approval of the above resolution, second by Supervisor Brien.

Supervisor Richard explained his thoughts of how this would make it easier for the press to know when a press release comes from the County Board Chair and when the County Board, as a whole, sends something out.

Discussion on the County Board Chair being the designated person to represent the County Board; there had not been the need for as many press releases in the past; there are no parameters for what is being asked for in this resolution; feels it is unrealistic to try to get the County Board together before sending anything out on County letterhead; Chair could comment and add that the full County Board had not met yet on this; County Board Chair letterhead may be used instead; and there is a policy on using the County Seal.

FAILED on the following vote: YES – Supervisor Yeomans; NO – Supervisors Beaver, Brien, Bostwick, Leavy, Peer, Podzilni, Purviance, and Sweeney.

Set Wage Rate for 2020 Recount Workers

"NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Rock County Board of Supervisors duly assembled this ______ day of ______, 2020 does hereby designate the rate of \$25 per hour for election officials working the 2020 recount."

Supervisor Podzilni moved approval of the above resolution, second by Supervisor Sweeney. ADOPTED.

Review, Discussion and Possible Action.

Approval of Changes to Administrative Policy and Procedure 5.31 Overtime, Flex and After Hours Payment Supervisor Yeomans moved approval of the changes to Policy 5.31, second by Supervisor Podzilni. ADOPTED.

Approval of Changes to Administrative Policy and Procedure 5.45 Uniform/Equipment Allowance Supervisor Bostwick moved approval of the changes to Policy 5.45, second by Supervisor Peer. ADOPTED,

<u>Executive Session:</u> Supervisors Leavy and Peer moved to go into Executive Session at 5:00 P.M. per Section 19.85(1)(g), Wis. Stats. Conferring with Legal Counsel Concerning Strategy to be Adopted by the Board Regarding Litigation in which it is, or is Likely to Become Involved. ADOPTED on a roll call vote with the following: AYES – Supervisors Purviance, Bostwick, Beaver, Brien, Peer, Leavy, Podzilni, Sweeney and Yeomans; NO – None; ABSENT – None.

<u>Adjournment</u>. Supervisor Podzilni moved adjournment from executive session and the meeting at 5:10 P.M., second by Supervisor Yeomans. ADOPTED.

Respectfully submitted,

Marilyn Bondehagen Office Coordinator

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEE.