## ROCK COUNTY TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION July 15, 2020 – 10:00 a.m.

### Rock County Sheriff's Office - Large Conference Room & Zoom

#### Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85083185778?pwd=Um1haE1hd3RwWnFhRU5XUFhQbFArQT09

Meeting ID: 850 8318 5778

Password: 121274

#### One tap mobile

+13017158592,,85083185778#,,,,0#,,121274# US (Germantown)

+13126266799,,85083185778#,,,,0#,,121274# US (Chicago)

#### **Dial by your location**

+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 850 8318 5778

Password: 121274

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/keHdKKnmRq

Join by Skype for Business

https://us02web.zoom.us/skype/85083185778

#### **AGENDA**

- Call to Order
- 2. Introductions (if needed)
- 3. Approval of Minutes from January 15, 2020
- Fatal Crash Review
- Old Business
- 6. New Business
- 7. Public Input
- 8. Set Next Meeting Date
- 9. Adjourn

#### **ROCK COUNTY TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION**

# Meeting Minutes January 15, 2020 – 9:00AM Rock County Sheriff's Office – Large Conference Room

The 2019 4th quarter meeting of the Rock County Traffic Safety Commission was held on Wednesday, January 15, 2020, at the Rock County Sheriff's Office at 9:00AM.

**In Attendance:** Mark Thompson, Diane Kowal, Hank Brill, Tom Boguszewski, Nick Elmer, Ahna Bizjak, Dennis Ryan, John Olsen, Terri Carlson, Lisa Wallenkamp, Susan Nast, Ryan Mayer, Randy Wiessinger and LeAnn Jones.

**Absent:** Barry Irmen, Craig Strouse, Curt Fell, Duane Jorgenson, Edward Witkiewicz, Jason Dupuis, Jude Maurer, Madelyn Glaeden, Marilyn Bondehagen, Rich Lefeber, Rick Olig, Shena Kohler, Terrence Sheridan and Troy Knudson.

Captain Thompson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

#### Introductions

Introductions were made in a roundtable fashion.

#### Approval of Minutes

Lisa Wallenkamp motioned to approve the minutes of October 16, 2019. The motion was seconded by Tom Boguszewski.

#### **Fatal Crash Review**

- October 26, 2019: 1 vehicle/1 deceased 24-year-old male. Roherty Road, .34 miles south of USH 14 eastbound. Video reviewed. Left the road on the left side, intentional or unintentional. ME: Toxicology 0.087% bac.
- November 22, 2019: 3 vehicles/1 deceased 62-year-old male. STH 81, 1,018 feet east of West Beloit-Newark Road. Video reviewed. Improper Overtaking/Passing Left. ME: Toxicology of deceased (not at fault) was 0.016% bac. No results on at-fault driver.
- December 25, 2019: 1 vehicle/2 deceased 20-year-old male and 19-year-old male. Rockport Road, .48 miles east of STH 11 eastbound. Video reviewed. Exceed speed limit. Made a U-turn, then drove down center of road, then swerved to avoid oncoming vehicle. Still under investigation. Racing is a possible factor. ME: Driver toxicology 0.08% bac. Driver and passenger both tested positive for marijuana. Also per ME, due to driver and passenger being on the clock at work for Van Galder Bus, OSHA is involved in investigations.

Ryan Mayer made the observation that in the first and third accidents, trees were a factor. May need to consider clearing trees from clear zone.

In confirming year-to-date fatalities with Randy Wiessinger, Mark Thompson said the July 31, 2019 accident on Holiday Drive was ruled a suicide.

#### **Old Business**

Dennis Ryan stated he missed the October 16, 2019 meeting, but he had told Hank Brill he would research the area of the intersection of Avalon Road and County Trunk J. His analysis revealed 3 accidents in 2017, 5 accidents in 2018 and 5 accidents in 2019. The majority of accidents were Failure to Yield or Failure to Stop. Time of day did not seem to be a factor. Intersection might need all-way stop signage in the future. Could be an area for the county to do a study. Nick Elmer, Assistant Director of Public Works, said the Highway Department could look into it some more. Nick and Hank said there currently are whirligigs on the stop signs on Avalon Road.

#### **New Business**

Tom Boguszewski said he attended the Wisconsin Highway Association Convention presented by Brown County. County Highway Safety Plan Studies were highlighted. Tom stated Duane is on board with the studies, possibly to consider for Rock County. Randy Wiessinger said the studies are a proactive approach to looking at county roads, evaluating curves, signage, etc. He said using these studies is a much faster way to get analyses moving. He offered to put Tom in touch with Andi Bell. Randy said Brown County has had a decrease in accidents since their implementation; however, Brown County's OWI's have also decreased. Tom said the price of Brown County's study was \$44,000, and that was without the improvements.

Ryan Mayer, Wisconsin DOT, said after 8 years in his current position he is moving on. Suzan Nast, who was in attendance, will be taking over his position.

Randy Wiessinger showed Community Maps, highlighting some areas of serious injury accidents, namely STH 213 near County A, as well as STH 81. Mark Thompson noted the area of 213 and County A is a speed reduction zone. Nick Elmer stated the Highway Department recently added more signage to that area.

#### Public Input

Tom Boguszewski said he saw some statistics that show Rock County has the most fatalities. This became a topic of discussion to include the recent Gazette article that came out after December's double fatality. ME Lisa Wallenkamp stated that due to the interstate system, many drivers are not from this area. Randy showed some statistics that show Rock County is high in some areas, such as 79% of the accidents involve Rock County residents. Susan Nast pointed out that Rock County has two metropolitan areas, Janesville and Beloit, with a lot of rural area, making it unique.

<u>Set Next Meeting Date</u> Confirmed with Randy Wiessinger the next Traffic Safety Commission meeting will be April 15, 2020, with July 15, 2020 and October 21, 2020 to follow.

Lisa Wallenkamp motioned to adjourn the meeting. Hank Brill seconded. Motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 9:47 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Diane Kowal Secretary II