

AD HOC REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE Minutes – August 11, 2021

<u>Call to Order</u>. Richard Bostwick called the meeting of the Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee to order at 4:32 P.M. via telephone conference.

<u>Committee Members Present via phone</u>: Supervisors Bostwick, Davis, and Mulligan; Ethel Himmel; Lisa Imhoff; Neil Deupree; and Lisa Johnson.

Committee Members Absent: Supervisor Potter and Victor Gonzalez.

Staff Members Present via Phone: Lisa Tollefson, County Clerk; Andrew Baker, Planning & Development Director; and Josh Smith, County Administrator.

Others Present: Mark Fuller (Alternate); Jennifer Borlick; and Nancy Staab.

<u>Technical Support Group Committee Members:</u> Cindy Hegglund; Ryan McCue; Lori Stottler; and Lisa Tollefson.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>. Supervisor Mulligan moved approval of the agenda as presented, second by Supervisor Davis. ADOPTED.

Election of Officers

Chair

Supervisor Bostwick opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee. Supervisor Davis nominated Neil Deupree. Supervisor Mulligan seconded the motion. The nominations were closed. Motion carried unanimously.

Vice-Chair

Deupree opened the floor for nominations for Vice-Chair of the Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee. Supervisor Mulligan nominated Supervisor Bostwick. Lisa Imhoff seconded the motion. The nominations were closed. Motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment None.

Review of Redistricting Timeline

Lisa Tollesson presented the current timeline to the committee (attached). The data is scheduled to be received in about one week. The Committee continued to review the timeline as outlined by Lisa Tollesson.

Review, discussion, and possible action on criteria for redistricting

Lisa Tollefson presented a PowerPoint on the basics of redistricting (attached). Tollefson answered questions regarding school district boundaries and how they tie in to redistricting. Tollefson and Jennifer Borlick covered where population growth may be seen within Rock

County and how changes in population can impact district boundaries. The Committee decided that there should be a 3-5% difference between the population in the smallest and largest districts. The Committee also discussed important factors when creating district boundaries. These were derived from a survey that Tollefson sent out to Committee members. The Committee decided the most important factors are equal population, minority representation, compactness, and school districts. There were some Committee members that did not submit this survey, and they were instructed to get those to Jennifer Borlick so that she would use them as criteria to create the boundaries.

Set tentative committee meeting schedule

Lisa Tollefson will send out a Doodle Poll to find the best time for this Committee to meet next.

<u>Adjournment.</u> Supervisor Davis moved adjournment at 6:10 P.M., second by Supervisor Mulligan. ADOPTED.

Respectfully submitted,

Haley Hoffman Office Coordinator

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEE.