

JOINT LAND CONSERVATION / PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEES Minutes – August 18, 2020

<u>Call to Order</u>. Chair Bostwick called the joint meeting of the Land Conservation / Planning and Development Committees to order at 6:04 P.M. on Tuesday, August 18, 2020, via teleconference.

<u>Committee Members Present</u>. Land Conservation Committee: Supervisors Bostwick, Aegerter, Davis, Lokrantz, Sweeney, Mulligan and Zajac; Planning and Development Committee: Supervisors Sweeney, Davis, Podzilni, and Potter (at 6:06 p.m.).

<u>Committee Members Excused</u>: Jim Quade, Land Conservation Committee; and Wayne Gustina, Planning and Development Committee.

<u>Staff Members Present</u>. Josh Smith, County Administrator; Andrew Baker, County Conservationist; and Colin Byrnes, Planning and Development Director.

Others Present: None.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>. Supervisor Zajac moved approval of the agenda, second by Supervisor Sweeney. ADOPTED.

Public Comment. None.

Discussion and Possible Action.

Organizational and Leadership Structure of Land Conservation and Planning & Development Departments

The Committees discussed the following: MOUs with the towns and the Planning and Development; office location, space sharing, lease costs and term at Land Conservation Department office; amount of time a shared director would spend on Land Conservation Department duties versus Planning and Development Department duties; current vacancy of the senior planner position in Planning and Mr. Baker's time still dedicated to that position; whether other counties have PACE programs or nitrates workgroups; and roles of current staff and how those might change in the future if vacancies occur.

Supervisor Sweeney moved to direct the County Administrator to provide further information to the committees on Option 3, keeping the departments separate but sharing a department head, second by Supervisor Aegerter. Chair Bostwick clarified that any decision would not be made until a subsequent meeting. PASSED on the following vote: YES –

Supervisors Bostwick, Aegerter, Davis, Lokrantz, Sweeney, Zajac, Podzilni and Potter; NO – Supervisor Mulligan; ABSENT – Supervisor Gustina and Mr. Quade

The Committees set their next meeting date to review this additional information for Monday, September 14, 2020 at 6:30 P.M.

<u>Adjournment</u>. Supervisor Zajac moved adjournment at 7:16 P.M., second by Supervisor Podzilni. ADOPTED.

Respectfully submitted,

Josh Smith County Administrator

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEES.