ROCK COUNTY, WISCONSIN



Board of Supervisors

51 South Main Street Janesville, WI 53545 (608) 757-5510 Fax (608) 757-5511

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH REDESIGN STEERING COMMITTEE

Note: This is a Teleconference

THURSDAY, JUNE 18, 2020 — 12:00 P.M.

CALL: 1-312-626-6799 MEETING ID: 884 9446 5335

Topic: BHRSC Meeting--June 18, 2020

Time: Jun 18, 2020 12:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88494465335

Meeting ID: 884 9446 5335

One tap mobile

- +13126266799,,88494465335# US (Chicago)
- +19292056099,,88494465335# US (New York)

Dial by your location

- +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
- +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)
- +1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)
- +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
- +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
- +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

Meeting ID: 884 9446 5335

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kb1Dpyfw2N

Join by Skype for Business

https://us02web.zoom.us/skype/88494465335

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of November 21, 2019
- 4. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

- 5. Updates and Possible Action:
 - a. Revised BHRSC Bylaws
 - b. Resolution on Updating Titles and Roles of Representatives on Behavioral Health Redesign Steering Committee
- 6. Updates on Groups Associated with BHRSC
 - a. Behavioral Health Providers
 - b. Prevention
 - c. Consumer Voice
 - d. Family Recovery Court
- 7. Discussion regarding Covid-19 related Behavioral Health Needs in the Community
- 8. Discussion regarding Racial Equity in Behavioral Health
- 9. Success Stories/Positive Outcomes
- 10. Citizen Participation and Announcements
- 11. Future Meeting Dates and Times—Noon on August 20, 2020, Location TBD
- 12. Adjournment



BEHAVIORAL HEALTH REDESIGN STEERING COMMITTEE (BHRSC) Minutes – November 21, 2019

<u>Call to Order</u>. Chair Luster called the meeting of the Behavioral Health Redesign Steering Committee to order at 12:02 P.M. in Rooms N1-N2, Fifth floor, Rock County Courthouse-East.

<u>Committee Members Present</u>: Supervisor Louis Peer, Deputy Chief John Olsen, Tim Perry, Linda Scott Hoag, Judge Michael Haakenson, Judge Karl Hanson, Lindsay Stevens, Michelle Rose-Barajas, Dr. Ken Robbins, Tami Ellis, Chair Kate Luster, Laura Neece, Chief Deputy Craig Strouse and Kelsey Cordova.

<u>Committee Members Absent</u>: Billy Bob Grahn, Jennifer Weidner, Greg Winkler, Patty Slatter, Samantha Palan, Mike Kelly, Tricia Murray and Tera O'Connor.

<u>Staff Members Present</u>: Brenda Endthoff, AODA Coordinator; Bette Trimble, Program Manager; Bridget Laurent, Deputy Corporation Counsel; Dr. Jantina Vonk; HSD Psychiatrist.

Others Present: Barb Werfal; WREP.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>. Ms. Neece moved approval of the agenda, second by Ms. Scott Hoag. ADOPTED.

<u>Approval of Minutes of September 19, 2019</u>. Supervisor Peer moved approval of the minutes as presented, second by Ms. Rose-Barajas. ADOPTED.

Chair Luster introduced new committee member, Kelsey Cordova, from Rock County Public Health Department.

Discussion Regarding the Purpose and Future of BHRSC. Chair Luster provided the background on the Behavioral Health Redesign Steering Committee. Leadership is coming across some challenges setting agendas and would like to review how this committee can be most effective moving forward. There was discussion about overlap of services, revamping the mission and name of the committee, changing frequency of meetings. The committee decided they did not want to lose the diversity of the committee. It was agreed to change to quarterly meetings with the option to meet in between if needed for action items. It was also agreed to have standing agenda items such as review of relevant legislative issues, identifying gaps/smooth transitions, oversee mental health access to care, success stories/positive outcomes, report out from other resources. We will communicate with the subcommittees on the structure change to the BHRSC. Some subcommittees mentioned but not exclusive were EBDM, Heroin Taskforce, Providers, CIT JPD, Trauma, WREP, NAMI, CJCC, Kids Continuum of Care and CST.

<u>Discussion Regarding Committee Membership and Vacancies.</u> Chair Luster said we need to evaluate if we have the right people at the table. The committee bylaws will be changing due to restructuring in the Human Services Department. There are currently two vacancies including the need for a new chair and vice chair. The committee suggested representation from local school districts, increased consumer representation, Beloit Police Department, Blackhawk Technical College, faith-

based representatives, ECHO/Caritas, and Community Action. The committee was asked to email Ms. Pohlman McQuillen or Chair Luster with specific names of individuals from these organizations.

Chair Luster asked how we can incentivize committee leadership. She suggested possibly having a rotating chair. She will send out the bylaws to the committee so they can see what the responsibilities of the chair are. Committee members were urged to reach out to Chair Luster or Ms. Pohlman McQuillen with any questions or interest in leadership.

<u>Success Stories/Positive Outcomes Related to Strategic Plan Goals.</u> Ms. Trimble shared a story of two individuals who were on the verge of homelessness and they have since become successful.

Ms. Endthoff shared a collaboration success where a client needed a higher level of care and the coordination helped facilitate access to care faster.

Chair Luster said herself, Chief Moore and Officer Klementz of the Janesville Police Department along with Ms. Pohlman McQuillen visited Lafayette County to share the Behavioral Health flag model and data. This is a great reminder of how far we have progressed. The CSIS plans and mental health flags have increased significantly over the last year.

<u>Citizen Participation and Announcements.</u> None.

Future Meeting Date: Thursday, February 20, 2020, 12:00 P.M., N1-N2, 5th Floor, Courthouse East. (2020 meeting dates: Feb. 20, May 21, Aug 20 and Nov. 19)

ADJOURNED. Dr. Robbins moved adjournment at 12:55 P.M., second by Ms. Neece.

Respectfully submitted,

Tracey VanZandt, HR Secretary

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEE.