STATE OF HIS CON

ROCK COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS

Highways & Parks

3715 Newville Road, Janesville, WI 53545 Phone: (608)757-5450 Fax: (608)757-5470 www.co.rock.wi.us

Public Works Committee Meeting – Highway Minutes Tuesday, August 25, 2020 – 8:00 a.m. Public Works Department- Committee Room 3715 Newville Road Janesville, WI 53545

<u>Call to Order</u>. Vice Chair Mawhinney called the meeting of the Public Works Highway Committee to order at 8:00 a.m.

Committee Members Present. Supervisors Rashkin, Mawhinney, Yeomans and Mulligan.

Committee Members Absent. Supervisor Richard.

Staff Members:Duane JorgensonDirector of Public WorksNick ElmerAssistant Director of Public WorksAmy HartleySecretary IIJohn TraynorParks ManagerTerri CarlsonRisk ManagerRich BostwickCounty Board Vice-Chair

Others Present: None.

<u>Approval of Agenda.</u> Supervisor Yeomans moved approval of the agenda as presented, second by Vice Chair Mawhinney. APPROVED.

<u>Approval of Minutes from July 28, 2020.</u> Supervisor Yeomans moved approval of the minutes of July 28, 2020, as presented, second by Supervisor Rashkin. APPROVED.

Citizen Participation, Communications, and Announcements. None.

Mr. Traynor announced the receipt of correspondence related to the ongoing snowmobile trail issue. Mr. Traynor stated the items brought forward are being reviewed by corporation counsel and could be brought to a future Parks Committee meeting. Supervisor Yeomans questioned the September 1, 2020, auto-renewal of the Snowmobile Alliance's contract. Supervisor Mulligan asked for a special meeting of the Parks Committee the afternoon of August 27, 2020 to review, discuss and take possible action on this matter.

Mr. Jorgenson reported the passing of former DPW Director, Benjamin Coopman.

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Rock County Public Works Committee August 25, 2020

8:23 a.m. – Mr. Traynor departed the meeting.

Mr. Jorgenson announced the leave of absence for Ms. Hartley beginning August 27, 2020, and return to be announced.

Mr. Jorgenson announced he will be out of the office September 8-11, 2020, but available via text or e-mail. Mr. Elmer will participate in the September 8, 2020, Parks Committee meeting during Mr. Jorgenson's absence if necessary.

HIGHWAY BUSINESS

<u>Discussion and Possible Action – Issue Paper – CTH A – Contract Amendment #3.</u> Supervisor Yeomans moved approval of the Issue Paper, second by Supervisor Mulligan. Mr. Jorgenson explained the original contract (from 2015), the first, second and third amendments and the progress of the project. APPROVED.

<u>Update and Discussion – Project Updates.</u> Mr. Elmer reviewed the status and progression of summer 2020 State, County, Town, Federal Bridge Aid and Other Highway projects.

Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, Mr. Jorgenson reported highway employees' perseverance, dedication and hard work have resulted in a significant amount of work being completed so far this year.

<u>Update and Discussion – WCHA (Wisconsin County Highway Association) Summer Road School.</u> The Summer Road School was held August 12-14, 2020. Mr. Jorgenson attended the WCHA Business Meeting remotely. Approvals were completed via e-mail as a quorum was not present at the business meeting. Kevin Koth, Lincoln County, was elected as Vice-Chair. Attendance was low due to the pandemic.

<u>Discussion – ATV Routes.</u> Mr. Jorgenson reported a Rock County ATV Club formed in June 2020. The ATV Club has approached the county, towns and municipalities to begin discussions regarding passage accessibility and use approval. A route system has yet to be outlined. Mr. Jorgenson will share more information with the Committee upon its availability.

<u>Review of Payments.</u> Mr. Jorgenson reviewed and briefly explained purchases.

<u>Next Meeting Date:</u> The next Highway Committee meeting is scheduled for September 22, 2020, at 8:00 a.m. at the Department of Public Works.

<u>Adjournment.</u> Supervisor Mulligan moved adjournment at 8:47 a.m., second by Supervisor Yeomans. APPROVED.

Respectfully Submitted, Amy J. Hartley, Secretary II