ROCK COUNTY HALL OF HONOR COMMITTEE April 23, 2008

<u>Call to Order</u>. Chair Podzilni called the meeting to order at 4:00 P.M. on Wednesday, April 23, 2008, in Conference Room N-1 on the fifth floor of the Rock County Courthouse-East.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>. Supervisor Brill moved approval of the agenda as presented, second by Supervisor Wiedenfeld. ADOPTED.

<u>Members Present</u>: Supervisor J. Russell Podzilni, Chair, Rock County Board of Supervisors; Supervisor Hank Brill, Vice Chair, General Services Committee; Supervisor Larry Wiedenfeld, Chair, Education, Veterans and Aging Services Committee; Marjorie Douglas Boylen, President, Luther Valley Historical Society, Inc.; Pat Thom, President, Rock County Historical Society; Guy Thomas, President, Milton Historical Society; Scott Bordwell, President, UW-Rock County Foundation Board; John Berg, President, Arrowhead Library System Board; John Decker, President, The Grove Society of Evansville.

<u>Members Absent</u>: Cathy Piazza, President, Beloit Historical Society; Diane Pillard, Dean, U.W. Rock County.

<u>Staff Members Present</u>: Craig Knutson, County Administrator.

Approval of Minutes: Mr. Berg moved approval of the minutes of April 25, 2007 as presented, second by Mr. Bordwell. ADOPTED.

<u>Discussion of Procedure to be Used in Selection of 2008 Hall of Honor Inductee(s)</u>. Mr. Knutson gave a brief history of the Rock County Hall of Honor. The criteria for induction as stated in the News Release is as follows:

"The Rock County Hall of Honor was established to recognize Rock County people, past and present, who have made significant contributions to the county and its people. The selection committee is seeking persons from all walks of life who have contributed their services and talents to the community. The selection committee is particularly looking for information on the broad contributions the candidate has made to the community, in addition to their employment contributions."

Mr. Knutson said the Committee can select one, two or three inductees to the 2008 Hall of Honor. Generally the process is to review and discuss qualifications and decide on the number of people you would like to recommend. A vote is taken by ballot and the Hall of Honor Committee's recommendation is forwarded by resolution to the Education, Veterans and Aging Services Committee and on to the County Board for approval.

Review of Nominations. The Committee reviewed and discussed all of the nominations.

Mr. Bordwell moved the selection of three inductees to the 2008 Rock County Hall of Honor, second by Supervisor Wiedenfeld. ADOPTED.

Ballots were passed out, with Chair Podzilni noting that a simple majority was required for induction.

<u>Recommendation of Inductees to the 2008 Hall of Honor</u>. After the ballots were totaled, Mr. Bordwell moved the names of Ken Hendricks, Hugo Henry and Ruth Ann Montgomery be selected as the 2008 Rock County Hall of Honor Inductees, second by Supervisor Wiedenfeld. ADOPTED.

Chair Podzilni reminded the Committee that the induction ceremony will be Sunday, June 1, 2008, at 3:00 P.M. and invited everyone to attend.

Adjournment. Chair Podzilni adjourned the meeting at 4:28 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Milligan Confidential Administrative Assistant

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEE.