ROCK COUNTY HALL OF HONOR COMMITTEE May 30, 2019

<u>Call to Order</u>. Chair Podzilni called the meeting to order at 4:12 P.M. on Thursday, May 30, 2019, in Conference Room N-2 on the fifth floor of the Rock County Courthouse-East.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>. Supervisor Brill moved approval of the agenda as presented, second by Supervisor Richard. ADOPTED.

<u>Members Present</u>: Supervisor J. Russell Podzilni, Chair, Rock County Board of Supervisors; Supervisor Rick Richard, Chair, Education, Veterans and Aging Services Committee; Supervisor Henry Brill, Chair, General Services Committee; Tim Maahs, Rock County Historical Society; Kristin Filhouer, Campus Administrator, U.W. Whitewater at Rock County; Diane Shadel, President, UW Rock County Foundation (via phone due to exceptional circumstances).

<u>Members Absent</u>: Terri Downing, Beloit Historical Society; Robert Hoerler, Luther Valley Historical Society; Supervisor Richard Bostwick, President, Arrowhead Library System Board; Audrey Stephens, Evansville Grove Society; Mike Pierce, Milton Historical Society.

<u>Staff Members Present</u>: Bridget Laurent, Deputy Corporation Counsel.

Others Present: None.

<u>Approval of Minutes</u>: Supervisor Brill moved approval of the minutes of April 20, 2016 as presented, second by Supervisor Richard. ADOPTED.

<u>Discussion of Procedure to be used in Selection of 2019 Hall of Honor Inductee(s)</u>. Chair Podzilni gave a brief history of the Rock County Hall of Honor and the criteria for selection set by the County Board is as follows:

"The Rock County Hall of Honor was established 1982 to recognize Rock County people, past and present, who have made significant contributions to the county and its people. The selection committee is seeking persons from all walks of life who have contributed their services and talents to the community. The selection committee is particularly looking for information on the broad contributions the candidate has made to the community, in addition to their employment contributions."

Chair Podzilni said the Committee can select one, two or three inductees to the 2019 Hall of Honor. Generally the process is to review and discuss qualifications and decide on the number of people you would like to recommend. A vote is taken by ballot and the Hall of Honor Committee's recommendation is forwarded by resolution to the Education, Veterans and Aging Services Committee and then to the County Board for approval.

<u>Review of Nominations</u>. Chair Podzilni said, for clarification purposes, the Rock County Hall of Honor was established to recognize individuals and not groups or organizations. The Committee discussed and all agreed the nominations should be for three individuals for 2019.

<u>Recommendation of Inductee(s) to the 2019 Hall of Honor</u>. Chair Podzilni and the Committee discussed the nominee's contributions to the citizens of Rock County.

The Committee agreed the vote should be by secret ballot, tallied by Ms. Bondehagen, and the top three nominees would be chosen.

The ballots were tallied and the recommendation for induction into the 2019 Hall of Honor are Albert Funk, Sandra Kraft and Tom Presny.

Chair Podzilni reminded the Committee that the induction ceremony will be Wednesday, June 19, 2019, at 6:00 P.M. at U.W. Whitewater at Rock County and invited everyone to attend.

<u>Adjournment</u>. Supervisor Richard moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:30 P.M., second by Supervisor Brill. ADOPTED.

Respectfully submitted,

Marilyn Bondehagen Office Coordinator

NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY COMMITTEE.